India's key B2B exhibition for the building industry
25 - 27 April 2019 • Bombay Exhibition Center, Mumbai, India

Government to launch 98 smart cities in India

This enormous city planning project will bring Indian architecture and design to the forefront of global technology. The Smart Cities Mission is a government initiative to update and renew the urban infrastructure in 98 key cities in India.
Government to launch 98 smart cities in India
The first 20 sites for redevelopment were outlined in January 2016, and the remaining inclusion will be released over the next two years. Prime Minister Narendra Modi officially launched the Smart Cities programme in Pune in June 2016, and since then announcements on funding injections, planning approvals, and new developments have appeared on a regular basis.

While there is no hard and fast rule for what constitutes a smart city, the government outlined the following core infrastructure elements required – much of which will require extensive construction work:

-Adequate water supply  
-Affordable housing  
-Assured electricity supply  
-Efficient urban mobility and public transport  
Parking spaces
-Pedestrian, non-motorised and public transport facilities
-Robust IT connectivity and organisation  
-Sanitation and solid waste management  
-Sustainable environment  
-Safety and security for residents, especially women, children and the elderly  
-Storm water drains    

So far, the government has allocated $1.5 billion dollars in order to begin the rollout of this extensive update and renewal programme.

The first 20 cities to receive their share of funds, and enjoy the first stages of this huge project, are outlined below:

Initial 20 cities allocated funding under the Smart Cities Mission in 2016 (state in brackets)

- Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
- Belagavi (Karnataka)
- Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)
- Bhubaneswar (Odisha)
- Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
- Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu)
- Davangere (Karnataka)
- Guwahati (Assam)
- Indore (Madhya Pradesh)
- Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
- Jaipur (Rajasthan)
- Kakinada (Andhra Pradesh)
- Kochi (Kerala)
- Ludhiana (Punjab)
- New Delhi Municipal Corporation
- Pune (Maharashtra)
- Solapur (Maharashtra)
- Surat (Gujarat)
- Udaipur (Rajasthan)
- Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)

Read the full article on WorldBuild365 here.